Ashes to Dust


20130712-223307.jpg

We feel the darkness, such nonsense, and become it. Soon plummet to the dirt that Mother Earth took from it.

That fork in the road melted down, pawned, and sold. Yellow brick road’s gold tarnished from false stories you told.

Ashes collected from the burn, singe the soul. Slow turn. Warms the deep spirit, fate fears it. Cold lessons learned.

A glowing aura swallowed, shedding layers of skin. The outside now in. Intense incense of that which makes sweet sense, once again.

Fire pours out like a spout off word’s frail shout. Jumping from pages forgot what age is, so courageous. Left infamous.

20130712-223347.jpg

6 thoughts on “Ashes to Dust

  1. You really are talented – my poetry, no matter how hard I try, and then again perhaps I don’t try hard enough – just ends up looking a like a version of Dr Seuss so am always impressed when other people can write it so effortlessly!
    On another note:
    I have just nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogger Award. It is my first and I have so enjoyed your blog and wanted to pass the love along your way. You can read all about it and accept your award at the link – hope you have a super sweet week.
    http://lessonsinfrench.wordpress.com/2013/07/15/my-sweet-and-unique-thank-you/

    Mich

    Like

    1. Wow, thank you so much! My first nomination! πŸ™‚ I am honored. Some days, my poetry starts off “Dr. Suess-ish” also. The best poems happen when I look at a picture, get emotionally attached to it somehow, and then describe that picture in a rhythmic tone. Thats when the passion happens. πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. It is a huge pleasure re: your nomination and I have to say I am surprised it is your first.
        That is a great way to write peotry – when I write I am visualising (well we all are I guess) but maybe I need to un-learn some bad poetry lessons from school and practice. Have a super sweet week πŸ˜‰

        Like

LEAVE A COMMENT!

