Cooking with Chloe: ‘Going Bananas’ Banana Bread


This morning I was awakened by my daughter at about 6:45. She had an accident in the bed, and was SO upset about it. After putting the laundry in, and lots of consoling, we decided that a day like this needs to start fresh. So, I got her Tangled Rapunzel dress out of the closet, and watched her smile as she twirled around the room in it. We went upstairs, played play-doh, and painted a picture (and hands, face, table, my glasses…..) After all our early morning fun we sat down and started to watch Tangled. That didn’t last two seconds, as we both looked at each other and said,

“I’m hungry.”

I went into the kitchen, and tore apart the place. I wanted something sweet, and she wanted everything we didn’t have I’m the house.  I said out loud, “I am going bananas in here!  I need a snack!”  Bananas sound good actually.  Hmmmm……Well, time to improvise! I saw eggs in the fridge, vanilla and sugar in the pantry, and sad-looking frozen bananas in the freezer. They were the gross black bunch hiding away in the side drawer for, well, forever. My princess helper this morning got out some of the other ingredients, while I thawed out the bananas. Good thing about Vegas weather is, it’s hot enough in the morning to defrost anything in 10 minutes or less!  With spatula in hand (ya, a spoon just would not do) her pretty dress on, and Tangled music in the background, we were ready to bake!

20130514-141046.jpg

The recipe says there is “no need for a mixer”, but she insisted.  😉  First things first.  Pre-heat the oven to 350.  Mash up 3 to 4 already mushy, ripe, bananas.  This part I did myself, since the flinging of overripe fruit was becoming a choreographed routine by my child.  Once they are mashed up in a large bowl, add 1/3 cup melted butter and stir well. Then add one whisked egg, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 1 cup of sugar.

20130514-141936.jpg

After letting my helper mix everything up, she sprinkled 1 teaspoon of baking soda and a ‘pinch’ of salt into the bowl.  Stir.Stir, stir, awkward smile, stir!

20130514-142029.jpg

Add 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour….slowly. My helper did a great job with this, and it’s not fun if you don’t get a little messy!  After all ingredients are mixed well, pour the goodness into a bread pan. (I used a square baking dish) Make sure to butter the bottom of the pan.  I used a sweet cream butter stick and swirled it around the edges and bottom.

Then…..wait.  Bread will take about an hour.  Lesson in patience here for sure because it…smells…amazing.

20130514-142526.jpg

When the hour had passed, and the timer goes off, it’s time to wait some more! Place the dish, or pan, on a cooling rack. I flipped the dish over, plopped the loaf out (ew), and let the bread rest on the rack itself.  Once cooled…dig in!  We had a couple warm slices with butter on top.  It made our rough morning turn into a great one! ENJOY!

20130514-142646.jpg

Recipe courtesy of Simplyrecipes.com 

2 thoughts on “Cooking with Chloe: ‘Going Bananas’ Banana Bread

LEAVE A COMMENT!

